Nov 9 - Apr 8

Toscanini: Preserving a Legacy in Sound

Exhibition

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Photo by Robert Hupka. Courtesy of the Estate of Robert Hupka, Arthur M. Fierro, executor. Toscanini Legacy Papers, Music Division, The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.

  • Show & Tell
  • Tickets
  • Dive In
Show Full Description

Arturo Toscanini (1867 - 1957) remains among the most revered figures in classical music, due in large part to the dissemination of his work through hundreds of commercially produced recordings and wide-reaching radio broadcasts, which helped to define and perpetuate his cultural significance during the second half of his meteoric career. This exhibition explores the iconoclastic yet beloved conductor’s legacy through the very medium in which he worked: sound.

With a particular focus on his 17-year career with the NBC Symphony Orchestra, Toscanini: Preserving a Legacy in Sound draws foremost upon the Toscanini Legacy collection of sound recordings, the single largest collection held by the Rodgers and Hammerstein Archives of Recorded Sound at The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. The over 43,000 items represent the full array of audio formats in use during Toscanini’s lifetime, including lacquer, shellac, and vinyl discs, tape reels, cylinders, and wire recordings as well as the more obscure selenophone recordings and the metal parts used in the production of 78 rpms discs. As one of the world’s leading sound archives, the Library for the Performing Arts will place front and center Toscanini’s recordings through ongoing live demonstrations and free public programs devoted to the craft of preserving and archiving the technology he helped define during his lifetime.

See Full Description >

Location

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center, Vincent Astor Gallery

Directions Directions

Tickets

November 2017

Tue, Nov 21

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Nov 22

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Nov 24

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Nov 25

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Nov 27

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Nov 28

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Nov 29

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Nov 30

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

December 2017

Fri, Dec 1

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Dec 2

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Dec 4

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Dec 5

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Dec 6

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Dec 7

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Dec 8

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Dec 9

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Dec 11

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Dec 12

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Dec 13

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Dec 14

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Dec 15

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Dec 16

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Dec 18

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Dec 19

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Dec 20

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Dec 21

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Dec 22

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Dec 23

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Dec 26

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Dec 27

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Dec 28

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Dec 29

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Dec 30

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

January 2018

Tue, Jan 2

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jan 3

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jan 4

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jan 5

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jan 6

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jan 8

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jan 9

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jan 10

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jan 11

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jan 12

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jan 13

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jan 16

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jan 17

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jan 18

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jan 19

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jan 20

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jan 22

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jan 23

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jan 24

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jan 25

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jan 26

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jan 27

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jan 29

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jan 30

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jan 31

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

February 2018

Thu, Feb 1

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Feb 2

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Feb 3

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Feb 5

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Feb 6

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Feb 7

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Feb 8

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Feb 9

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Feb 10

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Feb 12

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Feb 13

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Feb 14

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Feb 15

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Feb 16

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Feb 17

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Feb 20

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Feb 21

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Feb 22

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Feb 23

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Feb 24

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Feb 26

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Feb 27

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Feb 28

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

March 2018

Thu, Mar 1

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Mar 2

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Mar 3

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Mar 5

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Mar 6

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Mar 7

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Mar 8

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Mar 9

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Mar 10

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Mar 12

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Mar 13

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Mar 14

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Mar 15

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Mar 16

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Mar 17

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Mar 17

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Mar 19

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Mar 20

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Mar 21

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Mar 22

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Mar 23

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Mar 24

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Mar 26

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Mar 27

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Mar 28

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Mar 29

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Mar 30

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Mar 31

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

April 2018

Mon, Apr 2

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Apr 3

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Apr 4

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Apr 5

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Apr 6

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Apr 7

10:30 am Free

No Tickets Required

By Phone: 917.275.6975

Read Article

New Council Keeps Teens Connected to the Arts

Cara Chang

Introducing Lincoln Center's new Student Arts Council

Read More

Read Article

Playlist: Songs of Revolution & Transformation

Curated by Samora Pinderhughes

Composer/pianist Samora Pinderhughes takes us through the songs of resistance that influenced his Transformation Suite.

Read More
I would like to
make a gift to: