April 16, 2019 - August 17, 2019
All day

Second Stage Theater No Tickets Required

Four Decades of Producing Living American Playwrights

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

  • Show & Tell
  • Tickets
  • Dive In
Show Full Description

Come celebrate the decades of plays and musicals that have defined Second Stage as the home for living American playwrights.

In 1979, a new theater was born with a novel idea: give a second chance to American plays that are worthy of a second look. Second Stage Theater started in a cramped 100-seat space on the 16th floor of a hotel on the Upper West Side. That first production was far from an easy or auspicious launch – the director and three actors quit, one at the very last minute (luckily, a young actor named Jeff Daniels agreed to step in and perform).

Since then, Second Stage Theater (2ST for those in the know) has gone on to become a home for emerging writers and actors, having discovered and nurtured some of the most prominent theater artists of recent years, including Annette Bening, Timothy Daly, Taye Diggs, Laurence Fishburne, Mo Gaffney, Kenneth Lonergan, Patti LuPone, Kathy Najimy, Cynthia Nixon, Lynn Nottage, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Ben Platt, Anna Deavere Smith, and Wendy Wasserstein, among countless others.

The company operates three venues throughout Manhattan: Off-Broadway’s Kiser and McGinn/Cazale Theaters; and as of February 2018, The Hayes Theater. Newly renovated by David Rockwell, The Hayes Theater is the first permanent Broadway space dedicated exclusively to living American playwrights.

This exhibit will focus on the people, the writers, the designs, and the spaces that have made 2ST “an oasis for smart, modern theatergoers” (The New York Times). See the evolution of the Theater through set models, production photography, original papers, and personal recorded accounts from the artists who have made Second Stage their home.

See Full Description >

Location

The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center, Plaza Corridor Gallery

Directions Directions

Pricing

Free

Tickets

April 2019

Thu, Apr 25

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Apr 26

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Apr 27

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Apr 29

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Apr 30

All day Free

No Tickets Required

May 2019

Wed, May 1

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, May 2

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, May 3

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, May 4

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, May 6

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, May 7

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, May 8

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, May 9

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, May 10

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, May 11

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, May 13

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, May 14

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, May 15

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, May 16

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, May 17

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, May 18

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, May 20

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, May 21

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, May 22

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, May 23

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, May 24

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, May 25

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, May 27

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, May 28

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, May 29

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, May 30

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, May 31

All day Free

No Tickets Required

June 2019

Sat, Jun 1

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jun 3

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jun 4

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jun 5

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jun 6

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jun 7

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jun 8

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jun 10

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jun 11

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jun 12

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jun 13

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jun 14

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jun 15

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jun 17

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jun 18

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jun 19

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jun 20

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jun 21

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jun 22

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jun 24

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jun 25

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jun 26

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jun 27

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jun 28

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jun 29

All day Free

No Tickets Required

July 2019

Mon, Jul 1

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jul 2

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jul 3

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jul 4

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jul 5

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jul 6

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jul 8

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jul 9

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jul 10

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jul 11

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jul 12

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jul 13

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jul 15

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jul 16

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jul 17

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jul 18

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jul 19

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jul 20

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jul 22

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jul 23

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jul 24

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Jul 25

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Jul 26

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Jul 27

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Jul 29

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Jul 30

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Jul 31

All day Free

No Tickets Required

August 2019

Thu, Aug 1

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Aug 2

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Aug 3

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Aug 5

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Aug 6

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Aug 7

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Aug 8

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Aug 9

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Aug 10

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Mon, Aug 12

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Tue, Aug 13

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Wed, Aug 14

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Thu, Aug 15

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Fri, Aug 16

All day Free

No Tickets Required

Sat, Aug 17

All day Free

No Tickets Required

By Phone: 917.275.6975

Read Article

The Power of the Performing Arts: Leading a Center in a Decentralized Age

Eileen Willis

Henry Timms begins his tenure as the 11th president of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts next month.

Read More

Read Article

Lincoln Center Moments: Spring 2019 Season

Alison Mahoney

An overview of the Spring 2019 Lincoln Center Moments programs

Read More
I would like to
make a gift to: